Download WordPress Themes, Happy Birthday Wishes

Oppong Nkrumah, Akoto, Hawa Koomson approved after midnight ballot

The three ministerial nominees of President Akufo-Addo who were rejected by the NDC group on the Appointments Committee have been approved by majority decision in Parliament.

They are Information Minister-designate Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Mavis Hawa Koomson for Fisheries and Aquaculture, and Minister-designate of Food and Agriculture, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto.

A total of 265 MPs cast their votes in a secret ballot on Thursday dawn to approve them by majority decision.

Mr Oppong Nkrumah garnered 155 YES votes as against 110 NO votes representing 58.65% of total votes cast.

Mr Akoto obtained 143 YES votes as against 121 NO votes representing 53.96% of total votes cast while Hawa Koomson had 161 YES votes as against 104 NO votes representing 60.75% of total votes cast.

Ten other ministerial nominees were approved by consensus.

They are: Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, Yaw Osei Adutwum – Education, and Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – Parliamentary Affairs, Albert Kan-Dapaah – National Security, Dominic Nitiwul – Defense.

The rest are: Ignatius Baffuor Awuah – Employment and Labour Relations and Sarah Adwoa Safo – Gender, Children and Social Protection, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh – Energy, Dan Botwe – Local government, decentralisation and rural development, Ambrose Dery – Interior.

About nfm


Check Also

Mahama calls on the government to eliminate taxes on dialysis supplies.

John Dramani Mahama, a former president of Ghana, has urged the government to immediately eliminate ...