Download WordPress Themes, Happy Birthday Wishes

Osei Wusu elected 1st Dep Speaker, Fomena MP is 2nd dep Speaker

The eighth parliament of the 4th Republic of Ghana has been duly constituted as Members of Parliament-elect have been sworn-in by the new Speaker, Aban Bagbin.

The 7th parliament expired at the stroke of midnight leading to a dissolution of the previous parliament and the ushering in of the 8th parliament.

Veteran politician Alban Bagbin backed by the NDC caucus in parliament was elected the Speaker of the eighth parliament of the 4th Republic. The Speakership position won by an opposition party is a novelty in Ghanaian politics.

Joseph Osei-Owusu has also been declared the first deputy Speaker of parliament after a consensus from both sides of the aisle.

Independent Member of Parliament for Fomena, Andrew Asiamah Amoako was also declared 2nd deputy Speaker of the 8th parliament.

The Speaker in a short address said:”This should be the spirit that will guide the proceedings of this House for the next four years.”

He added that it’s unusual for an Independent MP to be elected to occupy such a high office as 2nd Deputy Speaker of parliament acknowledging the engagement, and dialogue that had taken place in that decision.

The House has been suspended till noon to continue with the swearing-in ceremony of the President-elect.

About nfm


Check Also

Mahama calls on the government to eliminate taxes on dialysis supplies.

John Dramani Mahama, a former president of Ghana, has urged the government to immediately eliminate ...